Monday, September 29, 2014

SHARON McCRUMB: APPALACHIAN STORYTELLER



Born in North Carolina, author Sharyn McCrumb sets her stories in the mountains of Appalachia. The themes and characters of her mysteries, short stories and historical fiction always have a connection to the land, which always plays a central role in McCrumb’s books. Her titles can be found on the shelves of the Monrovia Public Library.
 
McCrumb’s storytelling skills and ability to mix history and fictional characters shine in her Ballad stories, whose plots span American history. Her latest is King’s Mountain about a 1780 battle of the American Revolution. Devil Amongst the Lawyers is based on the true case of a school teacher who is accused of murdering her father. In Songcatcher a young woman explores the origins and secrets of a family song that has been passed down through generations. Mountain legends mingle with the present in The Rosewood Casket as a family gathers to build a coffin for a father who is about to die. 

Another McCrumb series is the Elizabeth McPherson novels, which star a forensic anthropologist and include some impish humor.


Fans of Patricia Cornwell and Tess Gerritsen will enjoy these mysteries. Some of the titles are Missing Susan, The Windsor Knot and MacPherson’s Lamen. 

And, for readers who enjoy short stories, McCrumb’s Foggy Mountain Breakdown is a collection of stories that not only captures the ambiance of the author’s beloved Appalachians, but also mixes themes and genres. Mystery, suspense, and comical tales will keep readers enthralled.

No comments: